Student Life

Home / Student Life / Clubs & Organizations / College Council of Nursing Students

College Council of Nursing Students

The College Council of Nursing Students (CCNS) is an official organization for all ASU nursing students. All pre-nursing and professional program undergraduate students enrolled in the College of Nursing and Health Innovation are represented on the Council by elected Class Representatives for each level of nursing.

Purpose

  • To provide for cooperation, understanding, and a direct line of communication between undergraduate students and the faculty and administration of the college and Associated Students of Arizona State University Downtown (ASASUD).
  • To promote, support and represent the student role in the undergraduate nursing program, including the pre-nursing program and the professional Upper Division program.
  • To provide the student nursing population with volunteer opportunities and events that harbor a sense of community, intellectual and academic growth, and the promotion of health and nursing.
  • Serves as the governing body for all undergraduate nursing students and arranges nursing and school-related activities.

Membership

Students may hold a desired office (if all qualifications are met) and exercise the various rights and privileges of membership. Offices are available on the Executive Council and General Council.

Management of CCNS

  • Vested in the Executive Council
  • Assisted by the General Council

Officers

TitleNameEmail
PresidentCarly Vanderkolkcfvander@asu.edu
Vice PresidentKamani Odina-Herbertkodinahe@asu.edu
SecretaryNikki Zimmermanngzimmer@asu.edu
TreasurerShelby Schragerslschrag@asu.edu
Apparel ExecutiveKelley Garcia  
Apparel ExecutiveAmber Glissonaglisson@asu.edu
Communication ExecutiveEmily Fadleyefadley@asu.edu
Curriculum Committee Representative Open 
Standards Committee Representative Open 
Supplies ExecutiveEmily Hansen echanse3@asu.edu
Supplies ExecutiveMegan Raissmraiss@asu.edu
Faculty AdvisorCynthia HolcombCynthia.Holcomb@asu.edu

Non-Executive Officers

Class Representatives

  • 5 Junior 1 Class Representative
  • 5 Junior 2 Class Representative
  • 5 Senior 1 Accelerated Representative
  • 5 Senior 1 Traditional Class Representative
  • 5 Senior 2 Class Representative
  • 2 Mayo Class Representatives
  • 2 Pre-nursing Class Representatives

*Post-baccalaureate and master program class representatives pending approval.

Appointed by their class to act as liaison for information and concerns between their class members and the Executive Council.